Welcome, to Montana American History and Genealogy Project. We are looking for new members to help rebuild the state and and new County Coordinators. If you are interested in learning more about AHGP, please read our About Page it also provides the requirements for becoming a Coordinator.  Push our button for other volunteer projects


Montana Counties
Changes in Montana Boundaries  <New>
Montana Counties
, 1921  <New>

Montana is bounded by British America on the north, Dakota on the east. Wyoming and Idaho on the south and Idaho on the west. It is nearly rectangular in shape, embraces an area of about 144,000 square miles, and is about three times as large as the State of Kew York. The name is pretty, suggestive and not inappropriate, as for a great distance its western boundary is the axis of the Coeur d'Alene or Pointed Heart range, a white line on the zig-zag of the mountains' crest, in the regions of perpetual snow. Farther eastward the main range of the rocky Mountains, rising in colossal grandeur, tends diagonally to the northwest across the Territory, while between these two distinct ranges, and far eastward from the latter, the country is diversified by a system of subordinate, transverse and parallel ranges, enclosing the most beautiful valleys.

Available Here

Military Honor Men from Montana, World War I <New>
Changes in Montana Boundaries  <New>
Montana Days of Outlaws, Vigilantes and Miners' Courts <New>
Execution of George Ives <New>
Organization of Vigilantes <New>

Montana Hot Springs Resorts <New>

Red Lodge, County Seat of Carbon County <New>

Great Falls County Seat Cascade County <New>
Miles City County Seat Custer County
Glendive, County Seat of Dawson County<New>
Anaconda, County Seat of Deer Lodge County<New>
Lewistown County Seat of Fergus County<New>
Kalispell, County Seat of Flathead County<New>
Bozeman County Seat of Gallatin County<New>
Philipsburg, County Seat of Granite County<New>
Harve, County Seat of Hill County<New>
Helena, County Seat of Lewis & Clark County<New>
Virginia City, County Seat of Madison County<New>
Missoula, is the County Seat of Missoula County<New>
Deer Lodge, County Seat of Powell County<New>
Hamilton, County Seat of Ravalli County<New>
Thompson Falls, County Seat of Sanders County<New>
Butte, County Seat of Silver Bow County<New>
Billings, County Seat of Yellowstone County<New>
Montana Military Forts, 1903
List of Pioneers, During the Years 1907-8-9
Overland Trail
Persons in Montana during the winter of 1862-3
Bannack City and Vicinity (Dakotah Territory)
Females at Bannack
Big Hole Bridge (Dakotah Territory)
Deer Lodge Valley (Washington Territory)
Citizens of Fort Benton, 1862-3
White Persons, Missoula County (Washington Territory)
Spanish-American War Tablet

First Regiment Montana Volunteer (Death Index)
Montana Pioneers Death Index 1910-1916

Online Resources

Bancroft Works, History of Washington, Idaho and Montana
Montana Territorial Appointments 1864-1888
Battle of the Little Bighorn
Montana Territory
Early Montana Trails
Yellowstone Expedition

Montana Neighbors

Idaho ~ AHGP ~ AccessGenealogy ~ ALHN ~ USGenWeb
North Dakota ~ AHGP ~ AccessGenealogy ~ ALHN ~ USGenWeb
South Dakota~ AHGP ~ AccessGenealogy ~ ALHN ~ USGenWeb
Wyoming ~ AHGP ~ AccessGenealogy ~ ALHN ~ USGenWeb
Yellow Stone National Park


Come back Soon!


Back to AHGP

This web page was last updated.
Thursday, 11-Jun-2015 21:54:12 EDT

Copyright August @2011 - 2024 AHGP The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.